Mara goes to Kalinga

After 14 freaking hours of travel (and sitting in a not-really comfortable position because my legs are not stretched out when I want them to stretch), we finally reached the highest place in my life! Like literally, maybe higher than Mt. Pulag (posting soon) but of course that’s not true, I just want you to know how my trip was. But IT WAS ALL FREAKIN WORTH IT. The place was surreal and you feel like you’re looking at a painting that you can’t keep your eyes off.

This was taken at the highest point of the Philippine Highway System - 7400ft
This was taken at the highest point of the Philippine Highway System
– 7400ft

The photo above is just a glimpse of the magical place up north.

We arrived at the turning point around 11ish, wherein we will start our 45 minute hike to get to the looking-at-a-painting like place. 🙂

The view while hiking- can't take many pictures because I might fall and never be seen again.
The view while hiking- can’t take many pictures because I might fall and never be seen again.

During the hike, we stumbled across this beautiful waterfall, where the locals take a bath (kidding!) but if I were them I would take a bath there EVERY. SINGLE. DAY. 🙂

waterfalls = we are almost near
Waterfalls = we are almost near

Mandatory haggard #selfie. :))

#SELFIEEEEEE
#SELFIEEEEEE

Hahaha! #sorrynotsorry

Anyway, I was singing (just in my head) Miley Cyrus’ song The climb because IT’S REALLY THE CLIIIIIIIIIIIIIMMMMMMBBBBBBBB!

We finally arrived at our destination and had to take a proof that I am still alive and…..

My face says it all. Hehe
My face says it all. Hehe

The locals (mostly children) will be greeting you with a happy yet confused look at their faces. The children will be asking for candies and I am telling you, be ready to be swarmed by cute kids when they see you holding a plastic of candies.

I told them to smile first before we give them candies. HAHAHAHA I love these kids
I told them to smile first before we give them candies. HAHAHAHA I love these kids

We also had a stop over at the famous Banawe Rice Terraces. It was so beautiful and beyond words amazing (I know those words are synonymous but who cares ha-ha). This is a must see place before you die. Trust me. 🙂

IMG_3454Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Pwede na ba? Hehe
Pwede na ba? Hehe
IMG_3435
This is his “welcome to mah crib” pose

I am not going to make this post longer, but please try to visit Kalinga or any place at Mt. Province. The people here are so nice and very outspoken to their beliefs, that you will feel so overwhelmed by how these people think.

Here are some of the pictures I took during the trip:

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset
#dreamdate

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

I feel so close with Mother Nature
I feel so close with Mother Nature

To sum it up, make sure you are ready to be flexible with the things/people/happenings that might arise on this trip (I don’t want to spoil all the details, it’s for you to find out heehee). And you should know that you won’t get any VIP treatment when you are here so be sure you are physically, mentally and emotionally ready for what might happen during this trip.

Oh, and when you go to Kalinga, make sure bring tons of candies and matches because the locals will love you forever when you do.

Until my next trip!

-M

Leave a comment